Our relationship with God is the greatest and most important relationship we will ever have. For us to experience the best relationship possible with God, we need to have regular rhythms of meeting with Him and listening to Him. The Bible is God's Word that He has given to us so that we may hear from Him. As a church, we want to be a people who listen and respond to God on a daily basis. So we make space in our life for daily Devotional Time, or DTs. These DTs include a passage of scripture from the Bible that everyone in the church will be reading together.


 
Month of Prayer for Missions-04.jpg

This month, we are focusing on mission for our Devotional Times. Ask yourself these questions each day as you read the passages below: 
What is God’s mission for His people and how is He fulfilling it?

Today, how can you join in God’s mission?

 

Monday, April 2: Genesis 1 & 2
Tuesday, April 3: Genesis 11:1-9
Wednesday, April 4: Genesis 12:1-9, 15:1-21, 17:1-8  
Thursday, April 5: Exodus 3
Friday, April 6: Exodus 14:4, 18, Ezekiel 20:5-9, Psalm 106:6-8
Saturday, April 7: Deuteronomy 6:1-25
Sunday, April 8: 1 Kings 8:41-45, Isaiah 48:9-11, Ezekiel 20:21-22

Monday, April 9: 1 Chronicles 16:7-36
Tuesday, April 10: Isaiah 60
Wednesday, April 11: Jonah 1 & 2
Thursday, April 12: Jonah 3 & 4
Friday, April 13: Psalm 23:1-6, Isaiah 49:6, Jeremiah 30:3, Zechariah 10: 8-9
Saturday, April 14: Matthew 5:13-16, John 3:16-21  
Sunday, April 15: Matthew 9:35-38, Matthew 10: 5-23

Monday, April 16: Matthew 16:24-28, Mark 10:44-45, Philippians 2:5-8
Tuesday, April 17: John 12:20-36
Wednesday, April 18: John 17
Thursday, April 19: Matthew 28:16-20, Mark 16:14-20, Luke 24:44-53
Friday, April 20: Acts 1:3-8, 2:1-47
Saturday, April 21: Acts 20:18-27, Acts 20:12-14
Sunday, April 22: Romans 8:18-38

Monday, April 23: Romans 10:1-15
Tuesday, April 24: 2 Corinthians 5: 1-21
Wednesday, April 25: Philippians 3:12-18, Jeremiah 32:38-40, Ezekiel 36:26
Thursday, April 26: Philippians 2:12-18, Colossians 3:1-4, 23, 24
Friday, April 27: Hebrews 9:11-15, 27-28, 11:13-16, 39-40
Saturday, April 28: Hebrews: 4:1-11, Isaiah 30:15
Sunday, April 29: Revelation 7:9-17, Psalm 86:8-10

Monday, April 30: Revelation 21 & 22


Here is an outline to use as we read the Bible together: 

1. START off by writing the date and the scripture that you are reading at the top of your journal page. This acts as a reference point when you look back at your journal. It also acts as a source of accountability. Sometimes we think it has only been a day or two since we spent time in the scriptures but when we look at our journal we notice that it's actually been three weeks. Yikes!

2. KEY THOUGHT: Read the passage for the day a couple of times. Pray for insight as you meditate on what the passage says. In one or two sentences, write down what you see as the key thought of the passages that you read. Use your own words; imagine summing up what you just read to someone who has never read the Bible.

3. KEY VERSE: Write down the one or two verses, word for word, that grabbed your attention or maybe sums up the passage you just read. This does two things: it causes you to meditate on those verses and it helps you begin to memorize those verses when you write them down.

4. KAIROS: Every time we spend time in God's Word, we should have a kairos moment. Most definitely, there will be times where we hear His voice much louder that others. 

  • Repent: Write down in a sentence, what is God saying to me? What is He asking me to start, stop, know, or change?
  • Believe: Write down in a sentence, what am I going to do in response to what God has told me?

5. PRAYER: Surprisingly, the goal of spending time in God's Word is not to simply read the scripture but to pray the scripture. Based upon the text and what God has spoken to you, write out a prayer to God, like a letter to Him. You could ask Him for wisdom and courage to follow through with what He has asked of you, seek forgiveness for times that you haven't been obedient, or simply pray through the scripture. 


As you read various passages from all over the Bible, it's important to remember the context. We always need to pay attention to what is going on around the passage we are reading and be careful not to disconnect a few verses from the whole message of a section of scripture. Understanding the meaning of a verse has to come from understanding the meaning of the entire passage.

To the right, we have provided a schedule of scripture to walk through each week. We encourage you to take Sundays to rest, connect with God, and reflect on what you have read over the past week, along with the kairos moments you have experienced. 

We pray that your DTs bring you closer to God and allow you to hear His voice more clearly than ever before. 


DT BOOKS FOR SALE ON SUNDAYS!

The Bible is the most valuable thing this world affords. It is wisdom. It is the royal law. It is the very words of God. Our new devotional books include a New Testament reading plan with introductions to each book. Join us as we study the Bible daily. Purchase a book for $3 at your Sunday gathering!