Our relationship with God is the greatest and most important relationship we will ever have. For us to experience the best relationship possible with God, we need to have regular rhythms of meeting with Him and listening to Him. The Bible is God's Word that He has given to us so that we may hear from Him. As a church, we want to be a people who listen and respond to God on a daily basis. So we make space in our life for daily Devotional Time, or DTs. These DTs include a passage of scripture from the Bible that everyone in the church will be reading together.


READING SCHEDULE

Monday, February 4: Proverbs 27:17 (Made for Relationships)
Tuesday, February 5: Luke 6:27-36 (Loving your Enemies)
Wednesday, February 6: 1 Corinthians 12:12-27 (Our Connection to Each Other)
Thursday, February 7: Psalm 133:1, Ephesians 4:1-4 (Unity with Each Other)
Friday, February 8: Galatians 6:1-10 (Life Together)
Saturday, February 9: Acts 2:42-47 (Life Together)
Sunday, February 10: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, February 11: Exodus 17:8-13, Galatians 6:2 (Supporting Each Other)
Tuesday, February 12: Acts 4:32-35 (Supporting Each Other)
Wednesday, February 13: Acts 12:3-8 (Unity with Each Other)
Thursday, February 14: 1 Thessalonians 5:12-15 (Life Together)
Friday, February 15: Matthew 22:34-40 (Love Each Other)
Saturday, February 16: Hebrews 10:19-25 (Meeting Together)
Sunday, February 17: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, February 18: Galatians 5:13-18 (Life Together in the Spirit)
Tuesday, February 19: Matthew 7:1-5, 7:12 (Life Together)
Wednesday, February 20: 1 Peter 4:7-11 (Life Together)
Thursday, February 21: 1 John 4:16-24 (Love Each Other)
Friday, February 22: Romans 12:9-21 (Life Together)
Saturday, February 23: Mark 9:30-35, John 13:34-35 (Love Each Other)
Sunday, February 24: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, February 25: Galatians 1
Tuesday, February 26: Galatians 2
Wednesday, February 27: Galatians 3
Thursday, February 28: Galatians 4
Friday, March 1: Galatians 5
Saturday, March 2: Galatians 6
Sunday, March 3: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, March 4: Matthew 3:13-4:11 (Prep for Lent)
Tuesday, March 5: Psalm 139:23-24 (Prep for Lent)
Wednesday, March 6:
Thursday, March 7:
Friday, March 8:
Saturday, March 9:
Sunday, March 10: Rest, reflect, worship


Here is an outline to use as we read the Bible together: 

1. START off by writing the date and the scripture that you are reading at the top of your journal page. This acts as a reference point when you look back at your journal. It also acts as a source of accountability. Sometimes we think it has only been a day or two since we spent time in the scriptures but when we look at our journal we notice that it's actually been three weeks. Yikes!

2. KEY THOUGHT: Read the passage for the day a couple of times. Pray for insight as you meditate on what the passage says. In one or two sentences, write down what you see as the key thought of the passages that you read. Use your own words; imagine summing up what you just read to someone who has never read the Bible.

3. KEY VERSE: Write down the one or two verses, word for word, that grabbed your attention or maybe sums up the passage you just read. This does two things: it causes you to meditate on those verses and it helps you begin to memorize those verses when you write them down.

4. KAIROS: Every time we spend time in God's Word, we should have a kairos moment. Most definitely, there will be times where we hear His voice much louder that others. 

  • Repent: Write down in a sentence, what is God saying to me? What is He asking me to start, stop, know, or change?

  • Believe: Write down in a sentence, what am I going to do in response to what God has told me?

5. PRAYER: Surprisingly, the goal of spending time in God's Word is not to simply read the scripture but to pray the scripture. Based upon the text and what God has spoken to you, write out a prayer to God, like a letter to Him. You could ask Him for wisdom and courage to follow through with what He has asked of you, seek forgiveness for times that you haven't been obedient, or simply pray through the scripture. 


As you read various passages from all over the Bible, it's important to remember the context. We always need to pay attention to what is going on around the passage we are reading and be careful not to disconnect a few verses from the whole message of a section of scripture. Understanding the meaning of a verse has to come from understanding the meaning of the entire passage.

To the right, we have provided a schedule of scripture to walk through each week. We encourage you to take Sundays to rest, connect with God, and reflect on what you have read over the past week, along with the kairos moments you have experienced. 

We pray that your DTs bring you closer to God and allow you to hear His voice more clearly than ever before. 


Scripture Memorization