Our relationship with God is the greatest and most important relationship we will ever have. For us to experience the best relationship possible with God, we need to have regular rhythms of meeting with Him and listening to Him. The Bible is God's Word that He has given to us so that we may hear from Him. As a church, we want to be a people who listen and respond to God on a daily basis. So we make space in our life for daily Devotional Time, or DTs. These DTs include a passage of scripture from the Bible that everyone in the church will be reading together.


READING SCHEDULE

Monday, August 27: Acts 13
Tuesday, August 28: Acts 14
Wednesday, August 29: Acts 15
Thursday, August 30: Acts 16
Friday, August 31: Acts 17
Saturday, September 1: Acts 18
Sunday, September 2: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, September 3: Acts 19
Tuesday, September 4: Acts 20
Wednesday, September 5: Acts 21
Thursday, September 6: Acts 22
Friday, September 7: Acts 23
Saturday, September 8: Acts 24
Sunday, September 9: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, September 10: Acts 25
Tuesday, September 11: Acts 26
Wednesday, September 12: Acts 27
Thursday, September 13: Acts 28
Friday, September 14: Romans 1
Saturday, September 15: Romans 2
Sunday, September 16: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, September 17: Romans 3
Tuesday, September 18: Romans 4
Wednesday, September 19: Romans 5
Thursday, September 20: Romans 6
Friday, September 21: Romans 7
Saturday, September 22: Romans 8 
Sunday, September 23: Rest, reflect, worship

Monday, September 24: Romans 9
Tuesday, September 25: Romans 10
Wednesday, September 26: Romans 11
Thursday, September 27: Romans 12
Friday, September 28: Romans 13
Saturday, September 29: Romans 14
Sunday, September 30: Rest, reflect, worship

 


Here is an outline to use as we read the Bible together: 

1. START off by writing the date and the scripture that you are reading at the top of your journal page. This acts as a reference point when you look back at your journal. It also acts as a source of accountability. Sometimes we think it has only been a day or two since we spent time in the scriptures but when we look at our journal we notice that it's actually been three weeks. Yikes!

2. KEY THOUGHT: Read the passage for the day a couple of times. Pray for insight as you meditate on what the passage says. In one or two sentences, write down what you see as the key thought of the passages that you read. Use your own words; imagine summing up what you just read to someone who has never read the Bible.

3. KEY VERSE: Write down the one or two verses, word for word, that grabbed your attention or maybe sums up the passage you just read. This does two things: it causes you to meditate on those verses and it helps you begin to memorize those verses when you write them down.

4. KAIROS: Every time we spend time in God's Word, we should have a kairos moment. Most definitely, there will be times where we hear His voice much louder that others. 

  • Repent: Write down in a sentence, what is God saying to me? What is He asking me to start, stop, know, or change?
  • Believe: Write down in a sentence, what am I going to do in response to what God has told me?

5. PRAYER: Surprisingly, the goal of spending time in God's Word is not to simply read the scripture but to pray the scripture. Based upon the text and what God has spoken to you, write out a prayer to God, like a letter to Him. You could ask Him for wisdom and courage to follow through with what He has asked of you, seek forgiveness for times that you haven't been obedient, or simply pray through the scripture. 


As you read various passages from all over the Bible, it's important to remember the context. We always need to pay attention to what is going on around the passage we are reading and be careful not to disconnect a few verses from the whole message of a section of scripture. Understanding the meaning of a verse has to come from understanding the meaning of the entire passage.

To the right, we have provided a schedule of scripture to walk through each week. We encourage you to take Sundays to rest, connect with God, and reflect on what you have read over the past week, along with the kairos moments you have experienced. 

We pray that your DTs bring you closer to God and allow you to hear His voice more clearly than ever before. 


Scripture Memorization